• Admission Open For All Colleges, For Details Please Contact Helpline
  • Welcome To Kingston Educational Institute
  • Career Help Line 8100981098 , 9883493503 , 9681848780

Anti Ragging Cell - In common parlance

Ragging means playing practical jokes on somebody or teaching someone a lesson.

The Hon'ble Supreme Court of India has given a more comprehensive meaning of ragging as under:

"Ragging is any disorderly conduct, whether by words spoken or written, or by an act which has the effect of teasing, treating or handling with rudeness any student, indulging in rowdy or indisciplined activities which cause or are likely to cause annoyance, hardship or psychological harm or to raise fear or apprehension thereof in a fresher or a junior student and which has the effect of causing or generating a sense of shame or embarrassment so as to adversely affect the psyche of a fresher or a junior student."

Following types of abuses and activities will be termed as ragging:

Physical Abuse
Verbal Abuse
Forced Activity
Lifestyle Restrictions
Controversial mind games

Kingston’s Directive to the Seniors:

Any and all interactions between freshers and seniors should be conducted in a polite and friendly manner. Aggression (be it in any form) across and outside of campus needs to be avoided all costs.

The Members of the Anti-Ragging Cell are as follows:

1 Prof. Ambarnath Banerji Academic Chairman Convener
2 Dr. Suman Gupta Sarma Principal, KLC President
3 Mrs Joyeeta Dutta Administrative Officer Member
4 Ms Shaoli Saha HR Dept Member
5 Mr. Mainak Biswas TIC, CE, KPC Member
6 Mrs. Sudipta Ghosh HOD, ME, KPC Member
7 Mr. Sourav Kundu Lecturer, EE, KPC Member
8 Mr. Sovonesh Pal Dean, Faculty of Engg. & Technology, KPC Member
9 Mr. Saikat Chatterjee TIC, ETCE, KPC Member
10 Mr. Subhashis Nath HOD, AE, KPC Member
11 Mr. Manijit Dewan Asst. Prof., KLC Secretary
12 Mr. Arup Kumar Dutta Head Clerk, KEI Member
13 Mr. Mrinmoy Samanta Hardware & Network Assistant Member
14 Dr. Sondipon Chakraborty TIC, KCS Member
15 Mr. Prantik Debnath TIC, KSMS Member
16 Mr. Krishnendu Chakraborty TIC , KTTC Member
17 Mr. Dinesh Kumar Verma Principal, KTTC Member